Call for Papers: CPSNA 2012

August 19, 2012 Seoul, Korea

International Workshop on Cyber-Physical Systems, Networks  and Applications (CPSNA'12)

in conjunction with the 18th IEEE International Conference on Embedded and Real-Time Computing Systems and Applications (RTCSA'12)

Cyber-physical systems represent a next generation of embedded systems featuring a tight integration of computational and physical elements. Emerging applications of cyber-physical systems include transportation, healthcare, energy, manufacturing, entertainment, consumer electronics, environmental monitoring, and aerospace, all of which will be essential pieces of our social infrastructure. A grander vision of cyber-physical systems, however, faces a core challenge of multidisciplinary research collaborations, as their relevant technologies appear in diverse areas of science and engineering. The objective of this workshop is to explore innovative, exciting, and fresh ideas for cyber-physical systems. Contributions should emphasize on the design, implementation, and evaluation of systems, networks, and applications. The scope of CPSNA'12 will give due consideration in all areas of research that facilitate collaborations between cyber-physical systems and existing technologies. Topics of special interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Embedded and real-time systems
  • Sensor networks
  • Timing analysis and verification methods and tools
  • Dependable computing
  • Ubiquitous and pervasive computing, ambient intelligence
  • Cloud and distributed computing
  • Data-intensive computing, data mining
  • Multicore and GPU programming
  • Architecture, compiler, and OS support
  • Experimental prototype systems
  • Project report on multidisciplinary research collaborations
  • Emerging applications of cyber-physical systems: autonomous vehicles, healthcare robots, smart buildings, smart grids, medical devices, virtual reality interfaces, infrastructure monitoring systems, etc.

CPSNA 2012 especially seeks papers from, but not limited to, students and young researchers. Case studies and evaluation of existing technologies are also welcome.

Date and Place

Paper Submission

CPSNA'12 invites submissions of full and short papers. Full papers must present complete work, while short papers may include work in progress. Submitted papers must adhere to page limits of 6 pages for full papers and 4 pages for short papers. The paper formats must follow 8.5-inch by 11-inch with two columns using a font size of 10 pt. In order to avoid violation of these instructions, authors are encouraged to use the IEEE proceedings template available on the following website:

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: May 20, 2012 (11:59pm Pacific Time)
  • Notification: June 19, 2012
  • Camera-ready version: TBD
  • Workshop: August 19, 2012

Program Co-Chairs

  • Insik Shin, KAIST, Korea
  • Songhwai Oh, Seoul National University, Korea


  • Arvind Easwaran, Honeywell, USA
  • Li-Pin Chang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
  • Jian-Jia Chen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Shinpei Kato, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
  • Sung-Soo Lim, Kookmin University, Korea
  • Hiroki Matsutani, Keio University, Japan
  • Songhwai Oh, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Insik Shin, KAIST, Korea

Program Committee

  • Benny Akesson, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Lars Bauer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Moris Behnam, Malardalen University, Portugal
  • Konstantinos Bletsas, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
  • Tommaso Cucinotta, Bell Labs, Ireland
  • Yaser Fallah, West Virginia University, USA
  • Jen-Wei Hsieh, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
  • Kanghee Kim, Soongsil University, Korea
  • Kyong Hoon Kim, Kyoungsang National University, Korea
  • Jinkyu Lee, University of Michigan, USA
  • Kyoungwoo Lee, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Naoya Maruyama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Sibin Mohan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Thomas Nolte, Malardalen University, Sweden
  • Kyung-Joon Park, DGIST, Korea
  • Rodolfo Pellizzoni, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Linh Thi Xuan Phan, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Hyunok Oh, Hanyang University, Korea
  • Anthony Rowe, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Hiroshi Sasaki, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Yi Wang, Hong Kong Polytech University, China

Steering Committee

  • Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Tatsuo Nakajima, Waseda University, Japan
  • Joseph K. Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University, China
  • Seongsoo Hong, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Sang H. Son, University of Virginia, USA